SPJ Norcal to host panel on Journalists in Content Strategy, Comms and Marketing

Please join SPJ Norcal for a panel discussion at Northwestern University, San Francisco’s Medill School of Journalism with journalists who also work in communications, marketing or content strategy – full-time or as freelancers. Our panelists will discuss their career paths and balancing journalism and non-journalism work – from both practical and ethical perspectives, and more….


Deadline extended for 2019 James Madison Freedom of Information Awards

SPJ NorCal’s Freedom of Information has extended the contest deadline for the 2019 James Madison Awards to Friday, January 11. *Please go here to submit your nomination. There is no contest entry fee.* See the 2018 winners here. For additional information, please e-mail the SPJ NorCal FOI Committee at


California Supreme Court Grants Review in Major Public Records Case

The California Supreme Court has granted review of an important electronic records access case which SPJ NorCal, along with the Pacific Media Workers Guild, urged the court to consider. The case, National Lawyers Guild v. City of Hayward, has major ramifications for the cost which public agencies are able to charge requesters for electronic records. McManis Faulkner…



The Freedom of Information Committee of the Society of Professional Journalists, Northern California Chapter presents its 34th Annual James Madison Sunshine and First Amendment Awards. Contact: FOI Committee Chairs Aaron Field and Matt Drange The James Madison Awards recognize Northern California organizations and individuals who have made significant contributions to advancing freedom of information and/or expression…



SPJ NORCAL HONORS 2018 EXCELLENCE IN JOURNALISM AWARD WINNERS FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: WEDNESDAY, OCT. 31, 2018 CONTACT: Laura Hautala (510) 529-1977 or Lila LaHood (415) 846-5346 SAN FRANCISCO — The Society of Professional Journalists, Northern California Chapter, honors Matthias Gafni of the Mercury News/East Bay Times as Journalist of the Year for the 33rd Annual Excellence…