SPJ NorCal 2018 James Madison Freedom of Information Awards Dinner Video

SPJ NorCal held its 2018 James Madison Freedom of Information awards dinner on March 27, 2018. Here’s a recap:

The honorees included:

  • Sandy Close who won the Norwin S. Yoffie Award for Career Achievement.
  • The East Bay Times and NBC News Bay Area won awards in the News Organization category
  • The Animal Legal Defense Fund won an award in the Non-Profit category
  • Lisa Pickoff-White of KQED and Jennifer Wadsworth of San Jose Inside and Metro Newspaper won the Journalist Awards
  • Susan Fowler and Dr. Joel Moskowitz won Citizen Awards
  • Joanne Hoeper and Yesenia Guitron won awards in the Whistleblower category
  • Marcy Burstiner received the Beverly Kees Educator Award
  • Gabriel Sandoval received the Student Award
  • Ben Friedland, the creator of BartCrimes.com, won an Electronic Access award
  • James McManis and Karl Olson won awards in the Legal Counsel category